Recent News See All

Watch our WonderCon virtual panel with a terrific team of 2021 authors!

March 28, 2021 / More →

Top Shelf's 2021 WonderCon panel, featuring James Albon, James Kochalka, Kim Dwinell, Edgar Camacho, and Christian Slade
Our marketing director Leigh Walton got dressed up and invited an international assortment of our outstanding 2021 authors to celebrate WonderCon@Home with a fun and freewheeling conversation about their new books — some hot off the presses, and some coming soon! Also discussed: their favorite pages, cool handicrafts by fans, why villains are more fun, why comics make you hungry, and why we haven't gone completely crazy during the pandemic.

Click here to hear from James Albon (The Delicacy, coming in June), James Kochalka (Johnny Boo and the Silly Blizzard, out now), Kim Dwinell (The Science of Surfing: A Surfside Girls Guide to the Ocean, coming in July), Edgar Camacho (Onion Skin, coming in May), and Christian Slade (Korgi Book 5: End of Seasons, coming in just a few days)!

Read More →

The SURFSIDE GIRLS explore THE SCIENCE OF SURFING!

March 20, 2021 / More →

"Kim Dwinell’s Surfside Girls has a timeless quality... it’s a perfect summer read." — Brigid Alverson, School Library Journal's "Good Comics for Kids"

The ocean is packed with plants, animals, water... and science! Ride the waves of knowledge with Sam and Jade as they explain all about the amazing wonders of the sea, and have a blast doing it.

Have you ever wondered why the ocean has waves? Why do the tides change with the moon? Can dolphins really "see" using sound? How does surfing actually work? And what can we do to protect the ocean?

Read More →

PIRATE PENGUIN & NINJA CHICKEN present a feast of funny!

March 20, 2021 / More →

“Ray Friesen is a veritable fount of silliness... Pirate Penguin vs. Ninja Chicken is filled with nonsense, from the copyright page to the comics to the endpages, and it’s guaranteed to make your geeklets giggle.” GeekDad

"The short stories will keep the interest of your most reluctant readers, and the action almost makes it like you are watching a cartoon on TV... Great for fans of Dav Pilkey and Diary of a Wimpy Kid." No Flying No Tights

You're telling me this pirate is a penguin?? That's not all, buddy. This ninja... is a chicken. And in their THIRD ridiculous book together, they're even funnier than ever!

Read More →

Moore & O'Neill's final LEAGUE epic comes to paperback!

March 20, 2021 / More →

"This wild metafictional romp is a fitting goodbye to two singular talents." — The Guardian (Best Comics of the Year)

After an epic twenty-year journey through the entirety of human culture - the biggest cross-continuity 'universe' that is conceivable - Alan Moore and Kevin O'Neill conclude both their legendary League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and their equally legendary comic-book careers with the series' spectacular fourth and final volume, The Tempest.

Read More →

THEY CALLED US ENEMY wins the Dwayne McDuffie Award!

February 21, 2021 / More →


Over the weekend, George Takei's bestselling graphic memoir received another prestigious honor: the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics!

All four members of the creative team — George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott, and Harmony Becker — contributed eloquent acceptance speeches to the livestreamed award ceremony, which was held on the tenth anniversary of McDuffie's death. You can watch the full program, hosted by actor Phil LaMarr and including testimonials about McDuffie's career and legacy in the industry, on Facebook.

They Called Us Enemy has also recently been nominated for many state-level Teen Book Awards, and selected for community reading programs ranging from multiple California cities to the entire state of Ohio! We are deeply honored that this book's timely lessons about family, identity, patriotism, and justice continue to resonate with readers around the world.