Recent News See All

MOTORCYCLE SAMURAI and TIM GINGER coming in July! Free Comic Book Day this weekend!

April 29, 2015 / More →

The sun is shining, the buds are blooming, and spring is here at last — but we're already leaping into summer! The new Diamond Previews catalog features two incredible debuts from Top Shelf, coming to your shelves in July — plus Jeffrey Brown reprints and more! And don't forget Free Comic Book Day this weekend...


After roaring success as a Top Shelf digital exclusive, Chris Sheridan is taking his over-the-top Mad-Max-meets-Kill-Bill thrillride to your bookshelf, with the print debut of The Motorcycle Samurai! This 176-page full-color graphic novel will hit stores in July.

Motorcycle Samurai is exactly what I want from digital comics. Hell, it’s what I want from comics in general. It’s a great story that uses the medium in unique ways. More, please!” — Mark Waid

To celebrate, we're priming the pump with a FREE Motorcycle Samurai comic book, in comic shops everywhere this Saturday on Free Comic Book Day! Chris Sheridan himself will be signing copies and meeting fans all day at stores across Seattle - check his Twitter for details!

"It's wonderful and inspiring to see a generation of authors with no preconceptions about what comics should be, and what sort of stories they should tell, flourish in this new golden age. Tim Ginger is an understated, wryly observed, and welcome addition to this gathering of new voices." — Dave McKean

We're delighted to introduce you to Julian Hanshaw, a thoughtful and witty cartoonist with a painter's eye and a poet's heart. His new graphic novel Tim Ginger, a character study of a widowed ex-test pilot, is full of rich desert colors, childless couples, haunting dreams, and exhausting conspiracy theorists. For fans of Jeff Lemire, Alex Robinson, or Eddie Campbell, don't miss Tim Gingerclick here for an interior glimpse, and pre-order today!

Read More →

Watch Rachel Maddow bring MARCH: BOOK TWO to life with Lewis, Aydin, and Powell!

April 17, 2015 / More →

The award-winning creators behind the landmark March series returned triumphantly to The Rachel Maddow Show last week to promote March: Book Two, as Maddow brought their work to life with a stunning blend of archival footage, animated art from the book, and live studio interviews.

Congressman John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell had fond memories of the show, having appeared together once before in November 2013 for March: Book One. But nothing could have prepared them for the amazing segment that awaited.

After setting the stage with a recap of Gandhi's techniques of nonviolent activism, Maddow discussed the implementation of those techniques by Lewis and his allies in the civil rights movement. She recapped March: Book One and then walked viewers through key moments from March: Book Two, including the terrifying violence unleashed by the 1961 Freedom Rides and the backstage disputes about Lewis's electrifying speech at the 1963 March on Washington.

Maddow then spoke with all three creators of March, discussing the widespread adoption of the series by schools, libraries, and awards, the responsibility the authors feel to be candid, and the reaction from young readers whose passion for civil rights is ignited after reading it.

Both books continue to ride the New York Times bestseller list for Graphic Books, and also for the first time landed on the Times' monthly list for Race & Civil Rights bestsellers. Watch the segment now and grab your copy today!

Announcing Eddie Campbell's epic BACCHUS (Omnibus Edition), plus JOHNNY BOO MEETS DRAGON PUNCHER!

March 31, 2015 / More →

The hits keep on coming! No sooner have we published the final chapter of the acclaimed League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: NEMO trilogy (Nemo: River of Ghosts) than it's time to announce two long-awaited Top Shelf releases — the gorgeous Omnibus Edition of Eddie Campbell's sprawling mythological epic Bacchus and the boundary-breaking crossover of James Kochalka's beloved series for kids, Johnny Boo Meets Dragon Puncher!

"Bacchus mixes air hijacks and ancient gods, gangland drama and legends, police procedural and mythic fantasy, swimming pool cleaners and classics. It shouldn't work, of course, and it works like a charm. ... Eddie Campbell is the unsung King of comic books. ... The man's a genius, and that's an end to it." — Neil Gaiman

"A story of surprising richness and gravity… Bacchus stands as one of Eddie Campbell’s crowning achievements as writer, artist, and executive creator." The Comics Journal

“Campbell is one of the premier cartoonists of his generation.” Publishers Weekly

"No one else in the medium combines emotional truth, literary intelligence, and formal daring with such adroitness and elegance." Booklist

Eddie Campbell’s Bacchus is a true epic, spanning a decade of work, over a thousand pages, and several millennia of alcohol consumption.

In Bacchus, the visionary behind From Hell (with Alan Moore) and Alec: The Years Have Pants presents his version of “an American-style comic book,” filtered through his own brilliant, whimsical, and wide-ranging sensibility. With a fine blend of action, comedy, suspense, and an ear for a great story, Bacchus brings the gods and myths of ancient Greece to modern life, as if they had never left.

The 560-page Volume One collects the first half of the Bacchus saga and will hit stores in JUNE!

“A landmark book for the kindergarten crowd.” — School Library Journal
"A true crowd-pleaser.” — Kirkus Reviews
"Magically captures the exact sense of zaniness often discovered in [backyard] playtime... and with huge panels and spare dialogue that will amuse kids and adults, it’s also the rare graphic novel that makes an excellent read-aloud." Booklist

James Kochalka's totally-bonkers comics for kids recently earned him the Eisner Award (Best Publication for Early Readers)... now he's celebrating with the craziest concept yet — a crossover between his beloved Johnny Boo and Dragon Puncher series!

When Johnny Boo Meets Dragon Puncher, the result is an explosion of adventure and fun.

Click through for more details and sample pages, and pre-order now from your favorite retailer for release in JUNE!

TODAY: Alan Moore & Kevin O’Neill present NEMO's final voyage down a RIVER OF GHOSTS!

March 25, 2015 / More →

“These are Victorian-influenced pulp fiction tales, and that’s enough, but they are also monuments to world-building as Moore and O’Neill construct enormous fictional amalgamations from the literature of the past. No one else has ever done it nearly as well as these two.” Comic Book Resources

“Perfect, potent adventure comics, cramming in crazy amounts of characters while maintaining an addictive forward plot momentum.” Heeb Magazine

“A wonderful concluding chapter to an excellent series. Moore and O’Neill have done that rare thing of creating a spinoff that actually betters the original.” Pipe Dream Comics

Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s League of Extraordinary Gentlemen reaches a new milestone today, as Top Shelf Productions releases the grand finale of the Nemo spinoff trilogy, a pulse-pounding 56-page hardcover entitled River of Ghosts.

In 2012, with the stunning conclusion of Century, the top-selling third volume of the League saga, creators Moore and O’Neill brought their literary-crossover saga to an incredible climax. Critics called it “magnificent,” a “glorious creative tapestry,” and “arguably one of the greatest comics of all time.” The authors might have been tempted to stop there and rest on their laurels... but one character, Captain Nemo’s steel-hearted daughter Janni, demanded the spotlight for herself, and a spinoff was born!

With a classic two-fisted spirit of adventure, the NEMO graphic novels have followed the terrifying pirate queen in her confrontations with unearthly Antarctic horrors (in 2013's Heart of Ice) and mechanical metropolitan monstrosities (in 2014's The Roses of Berlin).

Now, Top Shelf Productions and Knockabout Comics present what may be the Captain’s final voyage! It’s 1975, and our aging heroine is beginning to display a tenuous grip on reality. Pursuing shadows from her past—or her imagination—Captain Janni Nemo steers her wondrous ship Nautilus on an obsessive journey into the tropical mysteries of the Amazon, in a last attempt to put to rest the blood-drenched spectres of old. What awaits? New allies, outrageous enemies, inscrutable youths, impossible creatures, and a truly flabbergasting final battle. Don't miss Nemo: River of Ghosts — available today wherever books and comics are sold!

Rep. John Lewis takes MARCH to The Daily Show!

March 10, 2015 / More →

Last night, Congressman John Lewis continued his mission to share the legacy of the civil rights movement with today's youth, making his first appearance as a guest on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Lewis discussed his award-winning graphic novel series, March (co-written with Andrew Aydin and drawn by Nate Powell), which is swiftly becoming an essential resource for bringing the past alive to new generations and inspiring readers to carry on the powerful tradition of nonviolence.

In an episode fully devoted to Lewis, the congressman walked host Jon Stewart through some of the many civil rights milestones he witnessed and led throughout his astonishing career. “People must understand," he said. "And that’s why we did these two books here, March: Book One and Book Two, to tell the story, so our young people — our children, and their children — will understand what happened and never forget it.”

The next morning, Congressman Lewis continued the conversation and discussed March on CNN's New Day.

March: Book One and the new March: Book Two, called "essential reading" by dozens of outlets including USA Today and The Washington Post, have spent a combined 50 weeks on the New York Times Best Seller List. Among other honors, March: Book One is a Coretta Scott King Honor Book, the freshman reading selection at several major universities, and the first graphic novel ever to receive a Robert F. Kennedy Book Award.

 

Recent Reviews See All

Recent Interviews See All